Porsche 911 T

20130302_911T

 

Well… Is there much to say about this legend? The first in a series of cars to repeatedly define “sports car” even after 50 years running…

I came across it so often that I can’t even recall the first time. But I know which appearance was the one most memorable of this particular first series 911. It was the opening sequence of the movie “Le Mans“. Once again a movie starring Steve McQueen. I believe him being a motoring nut himself was sort of a guarantee for cool cars or bikes appearing in most of his movies.

This opening sequence looks a bit like a big advert for the 911. I just love the atmosphere. They don’t do this understated presentation of sports cars any more in today’s movies. It is nicely and calmly presented here surely as a build up for the drama of the movie and the upcoming race itself where the drivers get down to business…

For me the prettiest of all the 911’s. I certainly want one…